Lady Midnight Review

*Please be aware that while I do not give any direct spoilers, if you are very sensitive to being revealed anything about plot points and are not up to date with TMI or Lady Midnight, please come back when you have read them all!*

I am so excited to be reviewing Lady Midnight for you all today! As you all most likely know, Lady Midnight is the first instalment in a new series of Shadowhunter chronicles set 5 years after the events of City of Heavenly Fire. As with all fans of Cassandra Clare’s works, I went into this book with sky high expectations. I think that this in itself enhanced my reading experience of the book, which very well may have made me give it a higher rating than I would have if it were not written by Cassandra Clare. However, I will not reconsider my 5 star rating even after finding flaws in further deliberation- this book made me more excited than I have ever been for a new release, it kept me gripped, it introduced me to new characters I am now emotionally invested in, and overall I had such a fun time reading this. I could not have asked for anything more!

12837519_1213050295390109_364329895_o

Still not mentioning any spoilers, I will go into some issues I picked up on later, to keep this review critical and an accurate representation of my thoughts. Emma, surprisingly, was a character that I did not feel for (as oppose to Julian, Mark, Cristina etc.) I think a key reason for this is that I found her to be too similar to Jace- whilst I found all other characters to be refreshing and a delight to meet, I found that Emma held the very similar characteristics of being an impulsive, slightly arrogant, kick ass protagonist. These characteristics would not have bothered me so much had it not been for her continuing actions of going on missions and hunting down demons without consulting for help or thinking of the effect that her getting hurt would have on her Parabatai Julian. On the topic of Parabatai, this does not count as a spoiler because it is on the blurb and it becomes apparent basically as soon as the characters are introduced, I have to discuss Emma and Julian’s relationship. It is clearly forbidden, and though I felt that the focus on the clave laws dragged on a little too much for my liking, I definitely did feel for our two protagonists at this point. We seem to have a recurring theme of forbidden love throughout all of Cassandra Clare’s books, and though that may bother some, I look forward to seeing the development of their relationship. After all, having read the way in which Cassandra skillfully and beautifully delivered the forbidden loves of Clary and Jace, and Will and Tessa, I am sure she will not fail to make this a heartbreaking relationship in the rest of the series.

An element which I absolutely loved was the large family. Usually I dislike having such a large band of main characters as I find it difficult to follow and remember who everyone is and their individual characteristics, in this instance I had no issue with this. I think this is due to the way in which each family member had such a unique voice which allowed me to picture them all individually in my head. Mark may be my favourite of the lot; already following his brief appearance in COHF I was very eager to learn more. As he is entangled in the realm of fairies, I found myself wanting to find out more about the fae customs and his experiences on the Wild Hunt, especially after we were introduced to Kieran. (I won’t say anymore on that, don’t want to reveal any spoilers)! Julian hit a chord in me immediately after it was made clear how difficult his job is as he tries to hold the family together, especially after Mark returns and throws the family dynamics off balance. His love for all his siblings, but even more so for Emma was so touching and heart wrenching- job well done, Cassie! The plot itself was something new; like I previously mentioned, I loved the exploration of Seelie customs as I don’t think that was explored enough in the Mortal Instruments. I also was unable to see any of the plot twists or reveals coming- I think Cassie did a marvelous job of keeping that discreet until the very last moment!

If you were a fan of any other Shadowhunter chronicles, I would definitely pick this one up. Very little in my eyes has changed in the writing style, and I think that the characters are just as loveable as always. Also, whenever characters from the Mortal Instruments or Infernal Devices made an appearance I always jumped up and squealed- there’s nothing like seeing Clary and Jace being mentioned by others like they are celebrities!

Overall, I am so happy to have read this book. 5 out of 5 stars; despite any small flaws I found within the novel, I had a fantastic time reading this work of genius.

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts on Lady Midnight.

Anaïs

3 thoughts on “Lady Midnight Review

Leave a Reply

